Thursday, July 9, 2015

The Dark Tower, first published in 2007, is a series of comic books by Marvel Comics based on Stephen King's The Dark Tower series of novels. It is plotted by Robin Furth and scripted by Peter David. Stephen King serves as Creative and Executive Director of the project.

The first chapter run of the series consists of 30 issues that make up five volumes illustrated by Jae Lee and Richard Isanove. The first volume, The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born, is based primarily on flashbacks from The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger and The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass; the later ones are new content.

As stated by Peter David's afterword to The Long Road Home, the series details Roland Deschain's "progress from callow youth to gunslinger," starting with his adventures in Mejis from Wizard and Glass and ending with the Battle of Jericho Hill (as detailed in The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla and The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower).

The second chapter run consists of another 30 issues broken up into volumes under the title of The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger. The first volume of the second chapter run is The Journey Begins and it takes place twelve years after the Battle of Jericho Hill. The final volume, The Man in Black, is largely an adaptation of the latter portion of the first Dark Tower novel, namely the novellas "The Slow Mutants" and "The Gunslinger and the Dark Man".

The Dark Tower comics were planned to be finished after the release of the one-shot So Fell Lord Perth, released on August 7, 2013, according to Marvel's website. However, on April 25, 2014, a third chapter run, The Drawing of the Three, was announced.

Marvel has been publishing collections for each story arc, and on September 21, 2011, it began publishing hardcover omnibus editions collecting each chapter run, with bonus materials not contained in the original releases.

Story arcs

Dark Tower Omnibus Hardcover Comic Review Stephen King Marvel Comics - My first video with audio commentary, and I still hate the sound of my own voice. I got a request for this and decided it was a great idea. I love Jae Lee's art and ...

  • The Sorcerer is a one-shot that serves as a prelude to The Fall of Gilead
  • Sheemie's Tale, a one-shot that was meant to serve as an interlude between The Journey Begins and The Little Sisters of Eluria, was originally scheduled for publication in November 2010, then postponed to January 26, 2011, and later put on indefinite hiatus. The final issue of The Man in Black announced that Sheemie's Tale will be next in the series. While originally solicited as a one-shot, when finally released in 2013, it was announced as a two-issue limited series.

Other releases

Peter David announces Marvel adaptation of The Drawing of the Three


The Dark Tower: Evil Ground [Archive] - Palaver - A forum for ...

Story Arc Collections

Omnibus Collections

  • Story arc collections 1-10 originally were made available in both hardcover and softcover (paperback) formats. Beginning with Collection 11, the only printed edition released was a paperback format. (This does not apply to the Omnibus editions, which continued to be released solely in hardcover.)


cxPulp - The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger-The Battle of Tull #2 Mini ...

External links

  • Official Dark Tower comics site

Dark Tower: The Battle of Jericho Hill Vol 1 3 - Marvel Comics ...
Sponsored Links